Week 2/3 — The streak continues!

I’ve not missed a workout in 6 2/3 weeks… pretty awesome. Cardio & weight lifting… I found a way!

I just finished up cardio session 2 of the week. It felt really good. Easy cardio keeps getting easier, despite increasing the incline on the treadmill. The whole workout today was at 6% incline and then the bike. I started at 5% , then moved to 6% as the regular this past week or so, I occasionally up to 7%. I think getting it up to 8-12% should be the goal, beyond that not needed. I do 3.0-3.3 mph typically. Keep making incremental improvements and keep it up through December.

I have my plan going through December now, adding in a bit more rest in between the end of this block in week 9 and the start of week 1 of the ‘mix it up’ block. How I program early next year will be highly dependent on how the tests perform. If I see improvement of 3 or more reps on the tests, then I will likely just do Alpha again. For the bench that is roughly 1RM increase of 20lbs. That is good bang for the buck where I am at. If I am double…well that’s just insane… more like a 35lb 1RM increase over 8 weeks. Same sort of thing with the pullups. I could see doing a round of this where I am doing 230+ lbs on the bench press, and 20-25lbs on the pullups. The deadlift I could see doing 275 or more the next go around.

The 3-4 weeks I have programmed up next adds in internals… but probably not a ton. Lots of BW pullups for higher reps, and pushups for tests. A fairly normal amount of pressing and rows in higher rep ranges. No lower rep ranges. I imagine I will do a slightly faster tempo on exercises, like 1-3

So the niggles… The hip, yes still… BUT. I got this hip symmetry thing and the rogue mobility hand. I am going to continue to do this hip activation routine, and using the hand on the Psoas and Iliacus. Maybe something is happening, hips feel awesome today. The left hip has a little niggle on the deadlift… it’s mobility isn’t as good as the right, and I need to keep on it. Hopefully all this stuff will even out. I am really feeling optimistic.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a comment