Different cycle – mid week rest

I’ve been doing this Phoenix workout and come back around to the 2nd week already. It’s ordered to have the rest day mid-week. I messed it up last week, but this week I should be able to get it right and put the rest day tomorrow. My HRV is a bit down this morning as I had an afternoon deadlift workout, but hopefully I can muster enough energy for today’s leg workout. It’s not actually too tough, and I’m going to make a sub for those lunges where I am falling over. Will also experiment some with the Bulgarian squat today and loading.

The workouts have some intensity and I’d like to keep it up, as my body is a bit beat, but I just need to really keep up through Saturday with a rest day, and then head into the rest kind of week. The rest week just cuts volume and intervals. Hooray for that. 2 Weeks of pushing hard, and then 1 week to get right at lower volume. 

I can see that I’m building some capacity here, and it kind of sucks, but so far the body seems to be responding. I’m gonna fall off the creatine after Saturday and give myself the 2 weeks to really diet down during 1 rest and 1 work week. I think now, best I can hope for is 223. I’d take it… basically 5 lbs from where I am today. Track, track track…

Some observations:

  • not deadlifting every other day seems to be helping the hip some … duh. Also couch stretch nightly for several minutes seems to help. Floor time while watching tv … yea that too
  • Deadlift day, followed by leg day is tough, but since your not squatting heavy it seems to be okay. It’s one of the few things I dont’ like about this plan. Deadlifts were easier yesterday. 
  • 1 Minute hard rides on the Airdyne are tough. It took at this week to get used to doing those hard pushes and you still might not be adjusted. 
  • You must take this to completion, it’s partially about weight loss, and partially about capacity building. I see the value in the capacity building, and feel good that I can do it with the bike. This was key, albeit with the rower, during the PB thing. I ended up more fit, despite not running. 
  • I like the Airdyne better than the rower for this. They both suck, but the Airdyne is a little less sucky…
  • I should be trying to add in the 30 minute climbs at the end of the workouts… but time
  • There is a recommendation in the plan for +50 that I may end up taking if I start burning out. Cut the circuit day if your 50+ and not recovering. So this first pass through, that wasn’t an issue. Will check in on this one Saturday. 
  1. Leave a comment

Leave a comment